- Tiny house regulations and codes may vary by city, town, or county.
- The state requires owners of tiny houses on wheels to get titles within 30 days of purchase.
- Tiny houses 8ft by 40ft or more than 400 square feet are considered mobile homes by Delaware Department of Motor Vehicles.
- Anything smaller than the dimensions above are considered trailers.
Delaware has not yet approved specific regulations for tiny houses, but some advocates are working hard to change this. The state considers tiny houses on wheels to be recreational vehicles, and these RVs should be titled appropriately within 30 days of the date of purchase. Tiny houses in Delaware that are greater than 400 square feet are classified as mobile homes and are treated as such under current laws and regulations. Tiny houses that are less than 400 square feet are classified as trailers.
Building Codes are adopted at the county and municipal level; however the 2012 IPC, and the 2009 IMC and IECC have been adopted at the state level. The IFC ( International Fire Code ) have been adopted at the State level. Delaware has only three counties in the State: Sussex, Kent, and New Castle and we have listed the codes for each below….
Also Included in this listing is the Adopted codes by the City of Wilmington Delaware…
If you would like to review regulations for another state, click here